Brass Band de Charente and award winning trumpeter Nicolas Chatenet

Packed audience enjoy varied programme!

The Brass Band de Charente were delighted to share the concert stage with Nicolas Chatenet, Principal Trumpet of the Paris Opera. Nicolas treated the audience at the magnificent auditorium of Chateaubernard to some real innovation in brass music playing!

The concert began with the band playing several modern pieces including ‘Scat’ from ‘Cat’s Tales’ written by Peter Graham. The audience especially appreciated some wonderful jazz-style solos in the piece by Olivier Rivière on vibraphone, Luca Chiché on cornet and Michael Paulay on trombone – a brilliant effort by our soloists!

Innovation in brass music

The climax of the evening, however, was three pieces played by Nicolas Chatenet. The first and most challenging was the piece ‘Freedom’ written by Nicolas himself which included some really innovative use of electronic technology and music production.

The piece won Nicolas the first prize at a recent national competition. Nicolas also kindly wrote a coda to the piece to include the brass band. It was a privilege to hear such a rendition in the Charente!

Telemann comes to life!

Nicolas then paired with Luca Chiché for a Telemann trumpet duet but again interpreted in 21st century style.   

Luca, who has now finished his Master’s degree in trumpet performance at Munich conservatoire, commented: “I love returning to the Charente and especially the brass band where I was Principal Cornet for several years. The opportunity to play such interesting and innovative music gives us all something to think about!”

Brass flexibility!

Nicolas ended by playing the iconic Soprano cornet solo ‘Flowerdale’ written by Philip Sparke – Nicolas ran through the piece in rehearsal on his Bb Piccolo trumpet but at the last minute decided to perform the piece on the band’s Eb Soprano cornet.

For those present during the day, they would have also heard Nicolas play trombone to an equally high standard. What virtuosity!

Stretching our boundaries

At the end of the evening, Francis Chiché, the band’s conductor commented:

« “It’s a real pleasure to work with such a talented musician and to have our music boundaries being stretched in an accessible way.

Also, we all loved Luca returning to his brass family and performing such a stunning duet with Nicolas!

On a weekend such as this, where we have gathered the next generation of young brass players in the Charente, it’s wonderful to hear such a high standard of music being played!”

Why not get in touch?

You can also read more on other recent events with the Association and the Brass Band de Charente – such as a fantastic weekend workshop with the region’s youth players and the international trumpet soloist from Paris Opera, Nicolas Chatenet.

Music is a gift for life! If you would like to know more why not get in contact and visit our website: www.brassbanddecharente.fr .

1er Février 2020

Le Brass Band de Charente et le trompettiste primé, Nicolas Chatenet !

La salle du « Castel » affichant complet, le public a apprécié un programme très varié !

Le Brass Band de Charente était ravi de partager la scène avec Nicolas Chatenet, trompettiste solo de l’Orchestre de l’Opéra National de Paris. Nicolas a enthousiasmé le public dans la salle magnifique du « Castel » de Châteaubernard, en montrant de nombreuses facettes du répertoire des cuivres !

Le concert a commencé avec le Brass Band qui a joué plusieurs morceaux modernes, dont “Scat” de “Cat’s Tales”, écrit par Peter Graham. Le public a notamment apprécié des solos merveilleux de styles jazz, de la part d’Olivier Rivière (Vibraphone), Luca Chiché (Cornet) et Michaël Paulay (Trombone) – une belle prestation de la part de nos solistes !

Un répertoire très éclectique de musique pour les Cuivres

L’apogée de la soirée, toutefois fut le moment pour Nicolas Chatenet d’interpréter les trois pièces de son répertoire. Le premier morceau joué, et le plus complexe, était “Freedom” écrit par Nicolas lui-même. Il y incluait un usage innovateur de la technologie électronique et de la création musicale !

Le morceau lui avait permis de gagner le premier prix lors d’une compétition Internationale récente. Nicolas avait également gentiment écrit une coda pour la fin du morceau, afin d’inclure le Brass Band. C’était un privilège d’entendre une telle interprétation en Charente !

Telemann prend vie !

Nicolas a ensuite joué en duo « Song of Hope » de Peter Meechan pour trompette et Cornet à Pistons avec Luca Chiché, avant de jouer en bis un morceau de Telemann, mais encore une fois avec le style du 21ème siècle.   

Luca, qui a maintenant fini son master d’interprète de trompette à la Horschule für Music de Munich, a commenté « J’adore revenir en Charente et au Brass Band dans lequel j’étais le cornet principal pendant plusieurs années. L’opportunité de jouer de la musique si innovatrice mais aussi populaire avec une recherche constante de l’harmonie des sons  nous donne de quoi réfléchir ! »

La flexibilité des cuivres !

Dimanche, pour le public absent au concert du samedi soir, Nicolas a accepté de rejouer le solo emblématique « Flowerdale », écrit par Philip Sparke. Lors de la répétition, Nicolas s’est entrainé avec sa trompette piccolo si bémol mais, à la dernière minute, a décidé de jouer le morceau avec un cornet soprano mi bémol du brass band.

Pour ceux présent ce jour-là, ils ont également entendu Nicolas jouer du trombone, avec un niveau tout aussi élevé. Quelle virtuosité !

Etendre nos frontières !

A la fin de la soirée, le chef d’orchestre, Francis chiché, a commenté :

« C’est un vrai plaisir de travailler avec un musicien si talentueux, et de voir les frontières de la musique s’ouvrir, d’une manière accessible pour tous les publics.

Nous avons tous adorés voir Luca rejoindre sa famille des cuivres Charentais et faire un duo si éblouissant avec Nicolas !

À l’occasion de ce weekend nous avons réussi à réunir la future génération des joueurs de cuivres, avec des moments musicaux de haut niveau qui resteront dans leur mémoires !».

Pourquoi pas rentrer en contact ?

Vous pouvez aussi en lire plus sur ce weekend avec des jeunes musiciens de la région en collaboration avec l’association et le Brass Band de Charente et le trompettiste solo de l’Orchestre de l’Opéra National de Paris, Nicolas Chatenet.

La musique est un des cadeaux de la vie ! Pour savoir comment nous contacter, allez sur notre site: www.brassbanddecharente.fr .

1er Février 2020